Thread: It hurts!

Thanks

It hurts!

A friend asked me to a do a portrait of his roleplay character Asling in lots of pain, and told that Asling had sort of the classic beauty of Monica Bellucci and a olive skin tone. I found an awesome reference photo for the expression pain and started working. I have just played around with lightning so far and haven't yet gotten around to try to get the details to look a bit like Belluccine. (The pink line is there is because I'm playing around with cropping the picture there.)

I'm still quite new to defining light sources so I hope a this stage someone might offer me a helpful word or two about how I'm doing so far when it comes to lightning as well as any other feedback.
    He also asked for some magic special effects of some kind causing her the pain, and I feel a bit lost. Anyone got any good suggestion to offer on how to pull that off?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    My first question is: what type of magic effects? You might need to re-think the composition to include them. (Even something invisible like telepathy might come across better with a different angle or pose.) Because of that, you might want to figure out the magic effects before you work on the lighting.

But that's coming from someone who was just told that her weakest point is composition, so take it for what it's worth! :p

ETA: I personally wouldn't crop the picture there. It would make it a lot harder to tell what her gesture is.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to furiana For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thank you for you advice.

He was talking about having her skin actually hurt by magic, since she somehow is overloaded by magic effects. I think that I might be able combine that with something on the the skin on her cheek, and a larger something where her hand is gripping.

Thanks