Art: wireframe rendering in maya

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    wireframe rendering in maya

    ok guys this is what i'm trying to do. i want to have my fully textured character rendered out in a turnaround. but half way through it, i want the wireframe to fade in, covering the entire model. i can wireframe render with the hardware buffer. and i know how to do a turnaround. i don't know how to do both.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    heres what I would do,
    take a screenshot of the UV's
    change the color if you want the wireframe to be a specific color. Then re-apply this texture to the model using a layered texture node. put the original color on top with 100% opacity and blend mode none, then key the opacity of the original color file so that it transitions at the right time.

    Its always darkest before it goes black.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    What the heck??????
    Here's how I've done that. I'm assuming youhave your camera set up. Render out your regurlar render. Than render out a wire frame. Than you use after effect or something similiar and animate the opacity and you'll get a nice blend.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    The first step was basically how to render wireframe without hardware render in maya

    overall it does the exact same thing with a few benefits
    it stays all in program,
    you will get 3d opacity changes instead of 2d a
    nd if there is something in the render that you don't want to go transparent you can leave that without rendering on a seperate layer.

    Also if you want to get really fancy you could hook the alpha up to say a 3d snow node and animate that to make the wireframe fade in from a ceratin direction, or any number of other cool effects that couldn't be done in after effects

    if you want a quick avi I'll do one up

    Its always darkest before it goes black.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    absolutely:thumbsup:

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    isnt there a wireframe checkbox in the materials editor, or am i gettin max and maya mixed

    "But you aint got no legs Lieutenant Dan."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside
Register

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
The Art Department
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook