Gnomon's Entertainment Design Program - No International Students

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Gnomon's Entertainment Design Program - No International Students

I'm nearing the end of a five year sentence in a ridiculously unsatisfactory program (Interactive Multimedia Design at Carleton). This has lead me to reassess my priorities and goals, and while initially I felt myself split between programming and 2d/3d art, lately I've been feeling a firm tug from the world of art.

It's kind of unfortunately, really, because I'm a far better programmer and web developer than I am an artist. Still, digital painting has been my hobby since I was fourteen, so I'm not so horrible - but an absolute lack of formal education in the matter has left me in a very awkward position.

To be plain, I want to go to Gnomon. It's quite clear that the two year Digital Production for Entertainment is currently out of my reach. Still, there is the Entertainment Design program that makes my mouth water a little. Unfortunately, I'm too-damn-Canadian, and the ED program isn't open to international students since they can't issue I-20s for student visas.

I'm sure lots of people have been in this position - is it effectively an inconquerable impasse? Or is there anything I can do?

Currently I'm considering going to Sheridan College instead, to take their one year art fundamentals course to build a solid traditional portfolio, and then take another stab at Gnomon afterwards. Still, that Entertainment Design program looks absolutely wonderful, and if there is any way to overcome the obstacle presented by my nationality, I'd love to hear it.

Portfolio: 8 Point Font
    irshadkarim on deviantART
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Try calling them and see if they can help you with it.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by chil3 View Post