Problem with Blending and Layers and Whatnot

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Problem with Blending and Layers and Whatnot

Hey, first off, I'm new to Painter 12 and would love some advice and help.

When used on higher layers, my blenders, for some odd reason, act as if the colors in layers beneath them are always white, regardless of whether or not they actually are. What I mean is if I take the smear blender (or any other brush made in to a blender) and "blend" a space on its layer that is empty, it will "erase" or draw a white space in that layer.

It's very annoying when dealing with multiple layers. Say I just finished drawing a figure in which I employed the use of multiple blenders or blending brushes and then begin to draw the background or effects below it. As I do this I will find that various areas where I had used these brushes are considered white marks on the layer above, and I have to manually erase them. Normally this wouldn't be a problem if it weren't for the fact that I have to do it around the edges of nearly everything I draw, resulting in my pieces looking very flat, sharp-edged, two-dimensional and "separate" from the background, as if they're in a pop-up book.

I remember seeing a thread on a similar topic before, but I can't find it. I hope to get good with digital painting, so I wold appreciate all the help I could get! Thank you CA, I salute you and your diligent efforts to help n00bs like me!