lost creativity?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

lost creativity?

hey there,

that topic is bothering me for a quite long period. ive been to an art school from 16 to 22 (about 3 years ago). my drawings have become better, sure thats experience and practice (ive been slacking for about 2 years), but i seem to have lost my inspiration .

sammy mentioned in insects hoax-thread that inspiration is lost due to growing up... how did you creative artists out there gain it back?!?

im sometimes so frustrated about my lack of inspiration it nearly drives me mad... :/

id be glad if you could tell me some routines or workarounds to regain this most essential part of art-creation (imo).

thank you, i really appreciate every serious comment .

cheers.

newest sketchbook
    oil paintings

"Have only 4 values, but all the edges you want." Glen Orbik
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You might want to read the book "Practice and Science of Drawing" by Harold Speed. It doesn't teach creativity or help you with imagination, but he does give good tips on how to make a good drawing through line and mass rhythm. He gives examples of old masters drawings and paintings and shows how they made them visually interesting. Basically the books tries to teach you how to get away from making a boring technically accurate drawing, to something more expressful and visually appealing.

Learning those things might help you see things in nature you hadn't thought of before.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    the thing is when most people get older they stop learning, and learning, in itself, is a process of inspiring the mind through new ideas.

I always find new things to learn, and new things to read, do.