Thanks

Question Seeking advice on career juncture! Freelance vs. Studio. Animation vs. VideoGames

Hey Folks!

Hope this is a good place to post this. Got a bit of a 'Cake or Pie' situation on my hands and I'm aware it's a fortunate place to be, but it makes this decision no less difficult. Thought other artists out there might be able to offer some insight.

I'm a visual artist with a bit of a nomadic background. 29 years old, studied illustration, bounced around a bit, lived/worked abroad and neglected a traditional career path in favor of exploring the boundaries of my creative interests. Eventually came to NY and been here for a few years now, supported myself as an Art Handler while pursuing various creative projects. Done lots of fun stuff, been in a few exhibitions, and had many small jobs along the way but nothing permanent. Over time I've managed to cobble together a portfolio featuring mostly Animation, Art Direction and Production Art for Film/TV/Video.

Lately I've found my work opportunities have been improving. Got a break about a year ago when I was hired to lead a small animation department at a web start up and was able to stop Art Handling. Loved the job but it only lasted for about 9 months til the budget ran out. Around the same time I got a new gig doing an animated music video for an increasingly popular indie rock act. The video is nearly finished and my clients are pleased - so pleased that they want to commission a short film featuring their tunes. Other interesting freelance opportunities are coming forward as well. With the new work I've been doing it seems I'm entering a new professional tier and hit some sort of knee in the curve... but now I have a new option to consider.