Critiques needed

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Critiques needed

Well..I'm pretty new to digital art, definitely very different from the traditional one so sometimes I get some problems . Here are 2 of my artworks, I mostly draw portraits. Thanks for you critiques!

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I think you could push the values in the first piece some more. I think it would help to bring out the forms. The area around her eyes looks particularly flat. The hair could use some work as well. It looks less finished than the face. Focus on your light source and make sure it's consistent with the light source on the face. Also, some studies of the muscles in the neck would benefit you.

I feel the second one is better than the first. The hair could use some work. I don't feel that showing so many individual strands of hair is benefiting. Hair has form, just like anything else. It should react to the same light source as everything else. The ear could use some referencing and refinement. The clothing doesn't conform to the girls form or the same light source at all. It just looks like a blob of black and white. Right now, everything excluding the face is lacking accurate shading.

Last edited by AmandaMyers; July 8th, 2011 at 02:42 PM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Laura, you certainty seem to have a set of skills not many have when starting to get serious about drawing, congrats. That being said however you need to begin studying the human form more for there is an evident lack of knowledge in that arena.

For the first drawing, her eyes are too far apart, they look rather buggy. The skin tones need to be pushed more as others have said, and less ambiguity needs to be given to her body.