Thanks

what do (venting?)

Ok, so, I am a complete newbie at drawing and I like drawing enough to try to get good enough to get a job at it but at the same time I think I am way too old to start drawing and wanting to get a job at drawing (20).

As I said I like drawing but at the same time life drawing makes me want to punch babies because that's when I truly understand how bad I am at drawing to the point I no longer want to keep drawing in general because I am so terrible at it. And looking at it, the fact that to get better at drawing you necessarily have to keep drawing from life is so painfuly horrible that I stop drawing for weeks.

You may say that if it's so bad for me why keep drawing, well, I guess it's because drawing is probably the thing I am less terrible at so I guess it's the only path.

Watching artists that are better than me (including some friends) half inspires me but at the same time it gets me too horribly frustrated.

TL;DR: I get easily frustrated, wow I should stop complaining, what do.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,944 Times in 1,012 Posts
    I have not responded to these kinds of threads before, but I see them often enough to know a lot of people feel like this sometimes. It's no big deal.

It's never too late, you just have to want it enough. Watch out for excuses, they will hold you back.

I checked out your sketchbook. Stop putting yourself down, humility is a good thing, but the self-loathing in your small sketchbook thread, coupled with no anatomy drawings (despite your title saying there would be) can put people off.

You've made 6 posts so far and almost everyone has been a put down of yourself and now this thread...

Man up. Seriously. The balls in your court now. Fill up that sketchbook so people can help you and encourage you.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Star Eater View Post
    coupled with no anatomy drawings (despite your title saying there would be) can put people off.