Sketchbook: James's Workbook Take2
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

James's Workbook Take2

Sorry about that just starting the thread into the sketchbook section instead apologies for that.

Hi everyone what im basically doing is doing atleast a sketch a day speed paint or drawing and im looking for crits and feedback on how to improve.

I am studying VFX atm and have a strong interest in character design and really want to improve as the skills of drawing im hoping will keep pushing my 3D further you can be as brutal as you want, i'd rather someone said something was crap and how to improve rather then just to say its alright

Look forward to hearing from you

Kind Regards

James

(braces self )

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,064 Times in 398 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Tablets definitely take some getting used to. Why don't you just use pencil and paper?

I looked at characterdesigns.com a little bit. I'd recommend set 034 Part 2 Female Nude (red head). You can actually see everything (for the most part), they are fairly good poses and views, and no weird fish-eye lenses and camera angles.

I think doing heads like that boy's from photos is a waste of your time right now. For rendering you need to start with spheres and boxes and stuff.

Same with the figure. You need to learn how to draw simple 3D shapes first. You said you're working from Loomis right? Don't just stare at the book, copy them. And do it step by step the way he shows, don't go crazy and think you can start at the end. If you learn to draw three-dimensionally right from the beginning it will give you a HUGE head start.