Can someone explain this to me plz?

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Can someone explain this to me plz?

ok, i posted this in my sketchbook but it doesn't look like im gunna get an answer, so im posting it here.

Now the problem, how do you make smooth tonal transitions with a hard brush? Im always being told to stay away from soft brushes and just use blending and hard brushes but all i ever end up with a splotchy mess. Can anyone tell me how they would render this ball?

I spent a good 45 mins trying to get this to work, but nothing...

Attached Images Attached Images  
    "The whole point of practice is to do it until you can do it right." - dpaint

Dont trust anything i say! I'm a noob.
    My Noob Sketch Book
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,669 Times in 5,020 Posts
    First of all, you need to simplify and block in your initial values more accurately. Your reflected light is much too intense and extends onto the shadow far too much.
    Here's what I see, from darkest to lightest:
    1: form shadow, edge plane in reflected light
    2: Main reflected light, halftone
    3: Brightest reflected light, main light
    4: Center light
    Get those blocked in as accurately as you can in both value and shape at full opacity, then start working on the transitions by lowering the opacity (or setting it to pressure) and using the standard resample and stroke technique.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

Crash Course for Artists, Illustrators, and Cartoonists, NYC, the 2013 Edition!

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."
    -Marc Maron

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Elwell For This Useful Post:

Thanks