Why paint transparent shadows and thick lights?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Why paint transparent shadows and thick lights?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 746 Posts
    Follows
    Following

Why paint transparent shadows and thick lights?

I will preface this by saying I do very little oil painting--I know almost nothing about it, and am self taught in the medium.

That being said, I wanted to know why it is that there is a tradition of painting the lights of a painting in a thick more impasto style while leaving more transparent washes for shadows. Is there a reason for this? I have heard shadows "have more depth" when painted thinly, but I don't fully understand how or why this is (or even what depth implies/means exactly in this case).

Are there any example of artists who paint their shadows thickly? Is there even real a difference between transparent thin shadows and thick opaque ones? Is this something I should be worrying about? All these questions were popping up as I was doing a little Rembrandt oil study yesterday, and found myself naturally painting the shadows somewhat thickly in places. I don't use mediums really when painting, just use it straight from the tube. I tried to thin it down a bit with my mineral spirits, but found it looked odd and ended up painting over it with just paint.

If anyone can shed more light on the matter it would be greatly appreciated.

Website
    Sketchbook
    Blog

"Complacency is the womb of mediocrity. " -- Jason Manley

"If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them." -- Bruce Lee
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,102 Times in 925 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Take a look at van gogh.