Concept art. Where do I begin?
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Concept art. Where do I begin?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Concept art. Where do I begin?

Me: I'm 16 and up until now I haven't practiced drawing with any kind of structure, it's always been sort of impulsive and random (I'm bad at managing time anyway). I'm also a devoted musician and in the combination of music and paper I usually have the most fun creatively.

Q's!

-If you could go back in time to when you were 16, what advice would you give yourself about pursuing whatever art career you chose?

-In music you learn tenfold with a teacher, do you think they're as important in the visual arts, or is it more important to observe and learn on your own?

-Where do I find a teacher?

-How do you stay motivated in your art? Often I make mistakes and choose to hop into another project; I've started more things than I've completed.

-Can I balance music and a career in concept art? I don't like to think about having to choose between art and music.

-How do you study someone's work, besides redrawing what do you do?

-Finally, where do you start? I've seen lists of references on this forum but large lists are daunting. What kind of guide would you suggest starting with?

There's a lot of questions there, but if you could only answere one I'd still be grateful!

Thanks for your time

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerard D View Post
    -If you could go back in time to when you were 16, what advice would you give yourself about pursuing whatever art career you chose?