Art: New at this

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: New at this

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

New at this

Hey guys,
    I've been creating images for posters for a little while.
    I've been working from photos but recently I have been branching out and illustrating from scratch.
    I need to work on getting depth and texture into my pieces and as These image are being used on posters (local gigs) I need to work on my lay out of text and such.
    I've included a link for my more recent posters. because I'm retarded and can't get my images to upload at the moment Any feedback (be brutal) would be sweet
    Thanks!!

Last edited by AliaGlorie; June 10th, 2011 at 02:35 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Im a designer who has done some gig posters in my time, so hopefully i can offer some help.

On the design:
    - Typography is probably the weakest elements in all of this. I think I see a few spots where you stretch the type, which is usually always a bad choice. My type professor used to say "Remember that type has a face, would you want me to do that to your face?" which always made me laugh. So I would avoid doing that. Spend time finding type that fits the feel and the space instead of forcing type into the space.
    - A lot of your elements are around the same size. Decide on which reads are most important; the band? the time? the date? the venue? - The most important pieces should contrast and stick out, and that doesn't always mean they have to be huge, even though whatever the headline is should be the biggest element.