Computer for art
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Computer for art

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,223
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 428 Times in 379 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Angry Computer for art

    Hey.. I've been trying to figure out what computer to get so that my workflow gets more comfortable.

    What computer would you suggest for digital painting?

    What I want:

    I don't need the craziest computer with insane graphics cards and ram that you could sail the oceans with because I don't play heavy games. I need a computer (desktop) that I could do things like; paint in photoshop, make livestreams, render screen recordings, etc.. the usual thing artists do.. without lag! If I can get one without having to sell my kidneys, that's be great too.


    What I have:

    PackardBell Laptop
    Processor: AMD Athlon X2 Dualcore QL65 2.1ghz
    RAM: 4gb
    Graphicscard: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 2297mb memory
    Monitors: laptop + 1

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Without lag? Good luck Sometimes it's not the hardware but other factors that cause lag.

    By the way, I've seen people do fine with your setup.

    Go with a desktop so you can make better upgrades for a while.
    You can get an AMD phenom processor for cheaper than intel. Though I don't know your prices in Sweden. For example the phenom II can go from 100 dollars or more of course. You can get away with this : http://amzn.com/B004LRO9B4

    4gb of ram is good, if you can get 8 gb it's better.

    It's the video card with the desktop you want to watch for as well. The reason you may be getting lag on your laptop isn't your processor and ram, but the video card. Laptop video cards are not the most high performance cards.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,223
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 428 Times in 379 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Is it possible to replace graphicscards in laptops?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    donīt get phenom II get sandy bridge, it blows amd out of the water

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #5
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Loathsome View Post
    Is it possible to replace graphicscards in laptops?
    No. That's why I told you to get a desktop.

    Also ignore the idiot who posted before me. Read what the OP said. If the OP talked about having a good all around computer we'd be quoting different specs, and location has a lot of consideration on the OP's budget.

    We're talking about drawing not having a super powered pc. You don't need some insane cpu for drawing. CPU is not the biggest consideration.

    CPU is actually the third/fourth consideration when drawing. You're not really into creating 3d so a faster cpu is not very necessary. Many artists still stick with older software because it works. They don't care about CS5 or whatnot and even then the quad I quoted handles it well enough.

    The first is RAM.
    The second is graphics card (depends on the programs you intend to run)
    The third is hard drive because of swapfile and scratch disk.
    The fourth is CPU you'll be fine with a decent enough quad, it won't outdate itself for several years -which is why I said the AMD Phenom II will fit the bill. While I do have an intel chip, as an illustrator you're not going to really know the difference enough.

    Just use good housekeeping to keep your PC running.

    Last edited by Arshes Nei; June 14th, 2011 at 09:16 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,223
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 428 Times in 379 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    The second is graphics card (depends on the programs you intend to run)
    I normally just run photoshop, my livestream program. That's about it.
    So what would be a decent graphics card?

    Sorry for posting super late in this, I completely forgot about this thread.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •