Thanks
    Thanked 2,053 Times in 1,109 Posts

Frightening Implications

I'm no expert, and I hope someone more educated than I can correct me here - maybe relieve me of my worry. America's been involved in the war in Afghanistan for over a decade now, with no end in sight, and no clear progress, or even tenable goals.

One question that's been avoided time and again by all the major press is the Taliban's finances. Yes, we know they sell opium/heroin, and there was one long article in the New Yorker about selling illegal timber. All interesting. But where do these goods go? What harbors do they go to? And when they get on ships, what languages are the sailors speaking? Are these same ships sending bomb equipment to the Taliban? What language is written on the sides of the IED's anyway?

No one's saying...

Today I found a little clue: http://www.foreignpolicy.com/article...istan?page=0,0

Gwadar, on the western coast of Pakistan, near the border with Iran, previously a fishing village, now a major port, with 80% funded by China... Note how the article refers to "Ethnic Baluchi rebel leaders." Weren't these guys previously referred to as the Taliban? Weren't they involved with invading the SWAT valley a year or two ago?

The article states China mostly wants a nice port along the way to take care of its ships and bring through oil from other places. But when you visit the port's own website: http://www.gwadarport.gov.pk/Home.aspx

They say their main goal is to help bolster the economy of North and Western Pakistan - i.e. the Taliban. And what is their economy anyway? Well, it's that opium and illegal timber.

The website even mentions Quetta as one of the first towns to benefit from this new trade. Quetta. If you go to wikipedia, and look up Quetta, you won't find a single word about the Taliban. But look here: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/02/10/wo.../10quetta.html

So, is the US war in Afghanistan a proxy war with China? Someone teach me something.