Buying an Le Motion 1700: Issues or advice

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Buying an Le Motion 1700: Issues or advice

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Buying an Le Motion 1700: Issues or advice

    So yeah, its not a wacom brand, but it is one of the heavy contenders for wacom alternatives.

    I have been thinking about getting one. I have been reading through the archives on peoples advice. Seems mostly one or two people commenting on it, and they were old so I figured the issue was worth a resurrection.

    Anybody have knowledge, expeirence etc with these tablets?

    Its only 256 levels of pressure, but most people have said that doesn't matter to much. Plus, I think I can get one for like 500 dollars. Any thoughts or suggestions?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDonQuixotic View Post
    So yeah, its not a wacom brand, but it is one of the heavy contenders for wacom alternatives.

    I have been thinking about getting one. I have been reading through the archives on peoples advice. Seems mostly one or two people commenting on it, and they were old so I figured the issue was worth a resurrection.

    Anybody have knowledge, expeirence etc with these tablets?

    Its only 256 levels of pressure, but most people have said that doesn't matter to much. Plus, I think I can get one for like 500 dollars. Any thoughts or suggestions?
    A motion Computing LE tablet uses Wacom technology.
    I'm not sure how hard you've been looking as this thread is 4 pages long and you would have learned it actually does use wacom technology.

    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=187509

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Icon

    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    A motion Computing LE tablet uses Wacom technology.
    I'm not sure how hard you've been looking as this thread is 4 pages long and you would have learned it actually does use wacom technology.

    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=187509
    oh yeah. I actually think I remember reading that now.

    I was a little more worried about the hardware more than I was the screen. Is it of decent speed and stuff?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    oh wow. How did I miss that video. Thanks! I think this basically helped make up my mind.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 82 Times in 65 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Photoshop may give you some trouble, but Paint Tool Sai, Sketchbook Pro, and Artrage will work phenomenally on it. I don't have the 1700, but I have its younger brother, the 8.4 inch Ls800. Runs really warm, but works like a charm.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Icon

    I plan on using mostly Corel Painter. I hope that won't be too memory intensive. I am thinking about buying a couple of extra sticks of ram

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I found one with 2 gigs of ram, 80gigs of hard drive, and a 1.2 core solo CPU.

    Is a 1.2 too week to work with corel painter? I don't know really?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDonQuixotic View Post
    I found one with 2 gigs of ram, 80gigs of hard drive, and a 1.2 core solo CPU.

    Is a 1.2 too week to work with corel painter? I don't know really?
    While Corel Painter 12 has multicore support, not all the brushes use it. Just depends on what resolution (image size) you're working with.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Typically like 4000x5000 pixels at 600 dpi. It runs fine on my desktop and laptop but thats like 3.2 duo

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Run it at a smaller resolution for sketches and scale up and finish it on the desktop.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Existent
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Yeah. I figure thats what I'll have to do.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada, Alberta
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 356 Times in 309 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I love it!!!! I work in Photoshop 7 just fine. Start having some troubles with really large files though.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada, Alberta
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 356 Times in 309 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    One bit I should add though is the battery life is really horrible. Mine lasts for around 20 min with media player/PS7 and full brightness. I bought 2 Energizer XP18000 and they last for 2h 50m each with the same settings.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •