Art: Turtle trouble
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Turtle trouble

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Turtle trouble

Hello all! I'm having some difficulty and I hope you can help me.

I'm new to sculpting. For my first serious project I decided to make a life-size turtle in two parts- the upper shell (carapace) and everything else. The body will be hollow.

I made a form of aluminum foil and original Sculpey that is the size and shape of the intended void inside the turtle's body and baked it. Then I coated the form with canola oil and laid about a 1/2" of clay (Super Sculpey tinted with brown Sculpey III) over it. After sculpting the carapace I baked it at about 190 F for a couple hours. My hope was that the carapace would just pop right off the form; instead, the two were fused together. I had to break the form and scrape out the remaining original Sculpey attached to the carapace; during this process the carapace split in several places.

I want to try again. I will use some mesh to strengthen the carapace this time, but I don't know how to solve the problem with the form and piece sticking together. Should I make the form out of something else, use a different mold release, adjust the baking time/temperature, or just give up on the form idea?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following