Sketchbook: luxaeterna's (total noob) sketchbook

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

luxaeterna's (total noob) sketchbook

Hey guys,

I'm 25 years old and from germany. I love all different forms of art, but one of my biggest wishes always was to learn drawing, which I felt was..not for me.

I'm not for giving up, so I finally bought a Wacom Bamboo and a book (Betty Edwards "Drawing on the right side of the brain"), and already improved in the last week from what looked like drawn by a 6-year-old to..something better. (ATM I'm only drawing with pencil, not digitally.)
    (Edit: Kicked Betty Edwards off my desk, now practising with Bridgman and Nicolaides)

As I'm a total beginner, please don't laugh and bear with me. I'm highly ambitioned and willing to learn, so all feedback is highly welcome!

My absolute first attempts are really, really...BAD.

(Don't mind the attachment..just needed a nice picture, but I only have nice photos, no sketches..)

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by luxaeterna; May 28th, 2011 at 05:54 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I decided to leave it be with the Betty Edwards-book after I read a lot of critique on its methods.

I started reading Nicolaides - The Natural Way To Draw and my plan is to practise besides of that one hour per day. Let's see if I can keep up with that.

First my old sketches, and then my quick sketches for today (finally got a sketchbook..).

Last edited by luxaeterna; May 28th, 2011 at 05:49 AM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Nice to see a fellow artist take a plunge in the early stages as well. For first attempts, they could be a lot worse, trust me.