Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thread: I have problems with taking criticism.

Thanks

I have problems with taking criticism.

As a artist, I love my work. Even if one of the piece is crap. I love it.

If someone gives me a negative comment, I am more likely to tear somebody's face apart rather than ignoring or listening to their words.
    My work is very personal to me. Few things hit my red buttom harder than a insult to my work.

I don't want to name examples in my life. I know I have this problem and really have to deal with it to be a profressional artist. Or just an artist in the real world. Like AA, the first step is to admit I have a problem.

This is what I'm struggling with. This is more of a rant than anything else.
    Thanks for reading.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Try not to think of it as insults to your work but as a way to get better. They comment your work because you have potential and youre good enough for them to see how you can improove.
    Just think about it. Nothing in this world is perfect. Perfection does not exist, but it's a consept we humans like to stribe for. Even the most beautiful painting out there has its flaws, I'm sure of that. There will always be someone better than you and there will always be something to learn, but you can get far on that road none the less. You wont learn anything if you don't listen to people.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Lady Medusa For This Useful Post:

Thanks

It's not you

Hello

Not an uncommon problem at all, I've come across numerous artist's during ages past schooling and professional work who suffer from high degrees of this affliction.