Imaginary Castle - Trying to do it properly.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Imaginary Castle - Trying to do it properly.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Imaginary Castle - Trying to do it properly.

Hi,

I'm pretty much self-taught and I think it shows, sadly. I was looking around for process tips and I'm pretty sure that my main issue at the moment is a lack of planning and groundwork.

JeffX99 made a very interesting post at http://conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=220557 suggesting it is essential to work on thumbs then values then colour studies before even starting the full size image.

I also found Episode 17 at http://www.howtodigitalpaint.com suggesting a way of brainstorming thumbnails that appealed to me.

So, here is my attempt. I've only done the thumbs so far. I would very much like it if you let me know if there is one you think is better than all the others, and any issues you can see in its general form so far. I'll pick one and work on refining the form and then defining general values next.

The general theme is castles / ruins as I hope you can see.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Chris-Garrett; May 17th, 2011 at 01:04 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I like the 2nd one and the 8th one.

Home of the Killer Concept Art Tutorials
    www.conceptartmasters.com

3. The Following User Says Thank You to DAMJAN For This Useful Post:

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,878 Times in 2,354 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    ditto on the second one but give the castle more room from the edge at the top of the canvas and swing the road back through the middle instead of off to the left.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following