Thanks

Unhappy Arthritis and the artist

For the past 5 years (since I was 16 or so) I've had this weird pain in my right wrist and elbow. I couldn't write or draw for more than an hour without considerable discomfort and pain. I finally got a diagnosis this monday— it's seronegative arthritis. That's pretty upsetting, since it only gets worse with time and use, and I can't imagine living if it's impossible for me to create anything (thank god I'm not an artist by trade, I guess). I just wanted to know if anyone here has the same problem, or ways to deal with it, or something. Thanks.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Geez, I'm sorry. Is it in both arms? Or...will it pop up elsewhere too?

Thanks
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 2,548 Posts
    Sorry to hear that at your young age. I've got pretty sever arthritis in knees, neck and lower spine...nasty stuff. Fortunately not in my hands yet but a big concern. I figure I'll wire brushes to my stumps if necessary though. Sorry, not much in the way of advice or how to deal...just do what you think is best, listen to the experts (but don't always believe them - it's your body and your life). Best of luck to you.
    What would Caravaggio do?

Portfolio
    Plein Air
    Digital
    Still Life
    Sight Measuring
    Fundamentals

Thanks
    Try googling some of the following terms.

Arthritis +

- Paleo Diet
    - Lectins
    - Nightshades
    - Legumes
    - Fasting
    - Leaky Gut
    - Celiac
    Last edited by DamnDirtyApe; May 15th, 2011 at 03:11 AM.

6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DamnDirtyApe For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 2,548 Posts
    Really good idea actually DDA!
    What would Caravaggio do?

Portfolio
    Plein Air
    Digital
    Still Life
    Sight Measuring
    Fundamentals

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Bourin View Post