Todd Harris website/ebook any good?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Todd Harris website/ebook any good?

Hello, I am just beginning to learn about art and have been researching things on the basics to see what would be helpful for somebody with barley any knowledge. With that being said, I found two things, a ebook and a websiteand would like to know if anyone knows if these are any good.

http://www.alldrawnout.com/
    http://www.learning2draw.com/

While I already have a couple of books someone suggested in my other post, I still would like to know if people have any experience with these two websites. Are they worth the money, or are they nothing too special? I found his youtube, blog, and twitter and really liked his work I found on those, so I think I would learn a good amount from these if they are worth it. Any help would be appreciated and thanks for your time.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You mean...I can learn to draw? Here? NOW?! Without years of hard work, studies, and training? Fuck that! I want instant gratification! Sign me up!

Sarcasm aside, I think I bought that ebook years ago, when I was first starting out, as the Natalie Portman demo joggled something in my memory. I don't know where I placed it though.

That said, I looked over it a few times, then relegated it to the dustbin. Didn't learn much from it.

There are no "secrets" or "shortcuts" to developing good artistic skills. It's all about practice, studies, hardwork and perseverance. If you want to learn how to draw the human form and faces, go to a local portrait or figure drawing session. Anyone trying to sell you a line of coke, saying that it will turn you into a great artist, is most likely eyeing your wallet, and is milking you for it. I should know, since I fell for the very same thing you're pondering about getting.

If you want some books, invest in these: