Art: kabers Portfolio
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

kabers Portfolio

Well, here goes. My name is Roy and I'm 39 I guess this would be a good place to post up my portfolio and get some helpfull suggestions. I am completely self taught and have no formal background and have only been doing this for a few years. I want to be an illustrator for fantasy covers and fantasy magazines. I know I still need work in many areas but other than the dreaded anatomy I'm not sure where my weaknesses are. Thanks for viewing.

Attached Images Attached Images                    
    Last edited by kaber; May 9th, 2011 at 10:00 PM. Reason: updating info
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You've got some cool concepts and nicely designed environments. However one area to work on in general would be your values and shading. Some of your figures and objects seem hollow because they don't have enough shape and volume yet they have textures and detail. For example, the wolf's facial anatomy and structure is not built up as solid as it could be but you put in all that fur texture and detail in his eyes. This makes him look like a strange mass of fur instead of an actual animal.

In the seascape with the lighthouse, I really like the misty atmosphere and the grand sky. The rocks have a pretty cool silhouette shape but again, lack volume and depth. You could add more volume but rethinking how the light would shine and the planes of the rock and factoring in reflective light from the water.

Those are just my general thoughts. I hope it helps.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Wow, yeah, thank you! That is very helpful and I will go back and study in greater detail my values and shading. Actually I see I need to really brush up on a few basics. Thanks!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi Kaber,