Sketchbook: Nexgen's journey to being an artist.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Nexgen's journey to being an artist.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Nexgen's journey to being an artist.

Hello everyone! I have looked around on these forums for months to get inspiration and motivation. I've been really wanting to start posting stuff, but I've been too busy with school this semester to do so.

I've been a long-time musician, but recently made the decision this semester to change my major to Artistic Studies. I've always loved to draw, and doodle as well as appreciate all art pieces. I enrolled in my first classes this semester, and loved it, so hopefully I can keep it up and progress more! I'm still not good at all, but I'm hoping to improve and get critiques on here to help me prepare for next semester! I've only taken art seriously for about a month or 2 now because I wasn't really all that motivated half of this semester.

I'm sorry for my cell phone-taken images, but I don't have a big enough scanner to work right now. Hopefully I'll get something soon to take care of that!

This is an art piece I did my Senior year in High school with graphite. I smeared a lot, but I didn't really know all that well how to do much then.

This is a piece for my Art Appreciation class I took this semester. I chose to do the Constructivism movement so I decided to do it about genocide in Africa. It was my first time using Canvas, and I'm not really happy with it, but I received an A somehow on it.

This was an Additive/Reductive piece were suppose to do of Still-life this semester. I didn't achieve photo-realism unfortunately, but I feel like I learned a lot while doing this.

Finally, this is what I just started working on. I bought Bridgman's Drawing from Life book and started working with it. Didn't have much time, but just a few little studies I started tonight.