Art: Question regarding Clays
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question regarding Clays

So i have been attempting some clay figure sculptures recently using Terracotta clay, built over the top of a wire frame armature.
    Im no clay expert, so im not sure what i am doing that is making the Clay crack.
    I know that as an Air drying clay the material is prone to shrinking and that it needs to be kept wet while sculpting, so i have been very careful that when working the clay is kept that way.

Ideally i would like to work with Sculpey of somekind, but here in australia the only viable substitue is sold in pitifully small packages for an extraordinary amount of money.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Sorry canít offer any help with terracotta clay but i completely agree about the crazy price of Sculpey in Australia, the cheapest your likely to find it is about $21 online for the 453gm box.
    If youíre looking to buy other stuff as well it can be cheaper to get it shipped from America, especially at the moment with the dollar so high. I bought the 3.6kg bulk pack and a few other things a couple months back and even with about an extra $60 for shipping it still worked out cheaper than buying the same stuff locally.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Ive used a fair bit of sculpey but i dont like it as a sculpting material

have you tried Chavant.. its an oil based clay which never dries and you can make a mould of it and once done, you can reuse the chavant again.

I mainly use wax now, which again has the same advantage of reusing the material.
    granted you have to learn a new skill of moulding but its much better than sculpey (in my opinion)

agree with what JoshS says about buying stuff from the USA> i buy most of my stuff from there because its not available in the UK (sculpey is though)

My sculpting blogs

Weekly head sculptures