Sketchbook: Lerbia's Sketchbook
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Lerbia's Sketchbook

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lerbia's Sketchbook

Hello everyone. I'm Lerbia and I'm an aspiring artist. Before I post some samples of things I've done, I'll let you know a little about my own artistic journey.

I used to draw a lot when I was younger but I sort of neglected it for many many years. In the meantime, I draw maps a lot because I love maps as a visual medium for presenting information. They are such a lot of fun.

A year or so ago, I resolved to buy a graphics tablet because I wanted to be able to draw well. I also wanted it to try and improve my maps too. I spent a solid few months learning all the functions of photoshop so I was better able to use it (with good results regarding my cartography!). And in order to get used to using the tablet, I signed up to an online game that's no longer up called Broken Picture Telephone (I realized there was a sort of disconnect when I first acquired my tablet that my brain needed to adjust to and the game was a great way of fixing it!).

Anyway, I've been slowing working my way through various tutorials, trying to improve my art ever since but I often have motivation issues and I also don't know any other artists, sadly. I'm also a writer (a much better writer than artist) but I keep wanting to draw the things I write about so that is something of a driving force for it. I found this place after someone linked me to that Journey of a Rookie Artist thread and I found it incredibly inspiring!

So, enough rambling. Here are a few things so you can see the stage I'm at. I know I need to do more still life drawings though so I need to work on that.

*edit* Can someone tell me how to make these attached images into thumbnails?

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by Lerbia; May 2nd, 2011 at 06:52 PM. Reason: Question!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following