Art: Michael Berube Portfolio

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Michael Berube Portfolio

Hi my name is Michael Berube

I studied fine art with Bob Grant, here in Ottawa for 7 years learning how to draw and paint from observation. I started painting digitally 4 years ago.

Im currently in Algonquin college, completing a certificate program geared towards concept art.

I want to do illustrations and concept work for the big names in the industry.

All the illustrations here were completed in the last year. I try to refresh my portfolio as much as I can.

Attached Images Attached Images          
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    forgot this one

Attached Images Attached Images  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,436 Times in 747 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You've definitely got a handle on values, texture and abstract composition. The last piece especially has some really nice shapes going on.

I think that across all of these there are a few things you can work on however. For starters, none of these are particularly finished in my mind. Perhaps on some of the concept art ones like the image with the different hairstyles this is fine, but for the illustration pieces I think they can use more tightening up. Look at Craig Mullins--yes, he does have a more painterly approach and uses texture and atmosphere much like you do, but if you look at his finished work he gets a much tighter image than his speed paintings. Right now your stuff looks more like tight sketches, but not finished illustrations.

You can stand to study anatomy and structure a bit more. Currently in the first pic and the one of the different hairstyles, the anatomy and the structure of the faces are not very good. The face is quite generic and not very realistic in terms of planes and structure.