Need help with rubble, debris and destruction
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Need help with rubble, debris and destruction

Hi, I'm new here so I'm not certain about how it all works, so forgive me if this is the wrong section to post in.

Like most people here, I'm an artist who's looking for help/advice to improve. My passion is drawing concept styled art and game art work. My current inspiration is my favorite game series, Portal, and I've been trying to do some Portal 2 artwork.

Sadly, I have no idea how to draw debris or rubble so it's not really working out that well.

This is one of my recent pictures: http://hellsplumber.deviantart.com/a...al-2-177208919
    As you can see, the ground looks much to clean for a place thats supposed to be falling apart.

This is what I'm aiming for: http://images.wikia.com/half-life/en...ta_rubble2.jpg

So I really need help with rubble, debris, destruction and making things look aged and worn.
    If anyone could help or point be to a good tutorial I'd be really grateful.

PS
    I know that the picture I linked you to isn't great as it is; poor lighting/coloring, bad perspective etc but I've already been improving on those. But rubble is really holding me back and it's what I need the most help overcoming at the moment.

Last edited by Elwell; April 7th, 2011 at 01:05 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

JeffX99 is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,896 Times in 2,544 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Get a digital camera and drive around until you find some. There are always construction/demolition projects going on everywhere - or old piles of concrete and stuff laying around. You could also find a scrap yard and find some interesting stuff there. There are no tutorials for this kind of thing - just your own effort and research.

What would Caravaggio do?

Portfolio
    Plein Air