Digital painting method - good or harmful?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Digital painting method - good or harmful?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Digital painting method - good or harmful?

Basically, I have a really hard time recognizing what value colors are since I am new to painting using color (I come from a drawing background, obviously black and white.) For example, say I put down a red and a blue of the same value. If i turn the layer to black and white, they both become the same shade of grey. However, without doing that, I have no idea how dark they are compared to eachother...

So what I've been doing is actually painting the whole thing in black and white first to get the values perfect, and then adding color by combining hue+saturation layers, manual brushing, and color balance.

My concern is that i'm "cheating" and that I wouldn't be able to actually paint traditionally because of this method. Is this a bad way to learn?

Last edited by Tritan; March 26th, 2011 at 08:23 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    since you seems to have good knowledge of value, paint in b&w then use brush for color with color blending mode. the color will combine with the value. So if the value is dark grey, and you add yellow, it will be dark goldish.

Also the proper way of turning colors to b&w is to desaturate. MAC: CMD+SHIFT+U WIN: CTRL? + SHIFT + U

avoid doing adjustment layers, it complex things.
    Remember, brush with blending mode of COLOR and paint with specific color on the values.

kev ferrara is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,150 Times in 1,700 Posts
    Follows
    Following