Sketchbook: JohnyTex's Everyday Sketchbook

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

JohnyTex's Everyday Sketchbook

Hello everybody! I've been doodling for as long as I can remember, but recently I decided I wanted to step up my game and learn how to draw "for real". Hopefully there will be a lot of progress in this thread eventually!

Since I'm a beginner I'd deeply appreciate any and all advice you could give me, both critiques and advice on what to practice. And english isn't my first language, so don't hesitate to correct my grammar as well

Thanks in advance! It's exciting being a part of a commmunity with so many talented members, I hope one day I can master the craft as well as some of you guys have!

Finally, I'll just drop this quote from Geoffrey Chaucer here, as a reminder to myself and to others:
    "The lyf so short, the craft so longe to lerne."

You heard the man, it's time to get cracking!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

My first pencil drawing

Wow, this gave me a lot of trouble - I'm not used to using pencil at all, especially not for shading. I tried getting down the main contours first (the whole head, the face framed by the hair and bandana), but it looked really awkward.

I almost gave up right there, but then I decided I would try some shading. When I got to that step it felt like something "clicked" and it finally started to bear some resemblance to the reference photo.

I ended up making lots of corrections in the shading stage, because I couldn't spot what the errors were before. It didn't feel like the best way to go - my eraser got a real workout! Any advice on how to get better at getting the "right" lines down sooner?