What's the difference between Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

What's the difference between Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator?

I am an amateur comic book artist and I need to learn to color my comics, but I don't know which software I should get. Should I get Adobe Photoshop, or Adobe Illustrator? What is the difference between the two programs?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Photoshop is primarily a raster bitmap editor.
    Illustrator is primarily a vector graphics editor.

Also, they are spelled different.

Anyways, bitmap raster graphics have to do with the fact that images are made up of pixels. Think of a photo you take of your friend. If you zoom in, there is a grid of pixels, and each has a unique color. When you zoom back out, it can make up a highly detailed image. This is something raster images excel at.

A vector graphic, on the other hand, is merely mathematical information. If you want to create a line, it maps things like the starting point of the line, the end coordinates, attributes of that line such as thickness, etc. As you scale that image up, it merely provides match to infinitely redraw the image to its new scale. This is known as being "resolution independent". Generally, vector images aren't as detailed as bitmaps, but people have done impressive work with them.

"Doing something half-assed more than once just makes you more of an ass."
    ●● I7 920 2.67GHz QUAD ●● 12GB DDR3 ●● GTX285 OC ●● WINDOWS 7 PRO X64 ●● ADOBE CS5 ●● CINTIQ 21UX ●●

4. The Following User Says Thank You to AegisKleais For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by AegisKleais View Post
    Photoshop is primarily a raster bitmap editor.
    Illustrator is primarily a vector graphics editor.

Also, they are spelled different.