Sketchbook: Sketchbook - Valliant Creations (aka getting off my @ss)

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Busan, South Korea (currently) Albuquerque, NM (hometown)
    Thanks

Sketchbook - Valliant Creations (aka getting off my @ss)

Quick intro:
    I'm Kat, 27 as of Jan 2011. I got a degree in Sequential Art from SCAD, and promptly quit doing any art for... oh, two or three years after graduation (2005). For the past five years I've been a call center drone, a graphic designer (twice - neither time paid well), a substitute teacher and an English teacher in Busan, South Korea (where I currently am, now), and a comic book colorist.

Of all of those jobs, the ones that paid the best were the least fun, and vice versa.
    I'd like to change that.

So this sketch thread is serving several purposes for me:

a) to whip me back into shape, artistically (you have no idea how sad it is to try to draw something that used to be easy and realize you don't remember how to draw anymore). As of now, my best days (artistically) were all in university (an education which I will probably still be paying off when I die.) That's just sad.

b) to keep myself accountable - and you can, too! If you see I haven't updated in several days, you can kick my ass. In fact, please do.

c) to become an artist that can kick some ass, instead of one that can make something kind of pretty after hours and hours of work. Practice, practice, practice, as well as re-learning what I once knew and learning new things.

d) ultimately, to have the all-over work-ethic and ability that will land me a job doing something fun and challenging, hopefully in a game/movie studio or publishing house.