Sketchbook: mirem's sketchbook

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: mirem's sketchbook

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

mirem's sketchbook

Hello everyone! I'm a fifteen year old sophomore trying to improve my art, and I've finally decided to get serious. The first step is probably to get back to the basics, and then I really want to dig myself out of the hole I've dug with all the anime I've been drawing the past few years.

Any sort of advice would be amazing. I have no clue where to start, where to go, so anything you tell me is invaluable. I also have this problem of completely missing obvious pieces of information, so if I ask stupid things, I apologize. u__u Give me your harshest critiques! I crave critiques like an Polly craves crackers.

I guess I'll start with a pigeon, because that's one thing I want to improve on. I cannot draw animals to save my life.

Name:  000.JPG
Views: 258
Size:  85.6 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Spent a while drawing random things in my kitchen/room. Not sure how I should draw them.

Name:  001.JPG
Views: 225
Size:  328.8 KB

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    That's a good pigeon!

Don't think your anime art has gone to waste, since many of the things you learned about drawing those characters can be transferred over to drawing people. I'd pick up some anatomy books, since figure studies are always a great place to start.

I also recommend picking up a book or two on perspective. One really good one that helped me was David Chelsea's Perspective for Comic Book Artists.

You definitely have talent. I look forward to seeing more stuff.

Please check out my Deviantart page: http://lucidstillness.deviantart.com/

Also, please check out my sketchbook thread!

http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=202280