Art Schools in nyc?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Art Schools in nyc?

I live really close to NYC and I'm a sophomore in hs right now. I'd like to go to an art school in new york city. Any recommendations? What would I have to do to prepare? I'm not taking a lot of art classes in my high school (parents and teachers are kind of forcing me to take regular classes..I really would if I could.) I think I have average grades, about a 3.5 gpa. I'm taking all these honors and ap classes. Sometimes I get overloaded with work I don't to get practice for days.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    There are several art schools in NYC as well as many liberal arts colleges and county colleges that have art majors. Make an account on Collegeboard.com and do a school search, it will provide you with all the schools in the area, price, statistics, etc etc.

To name a few that i know of: Pratt Institute, School of Visual Arts, Cooper Union, FIT, Parsons, etc.

If you can't take any art classes at school try to get into the habit of drawing in a sketchbook daily. Over the summer look into pre-college programs and portfolio creation programs, many of the colleges I listed have some sort of summer program. If you don't want spend you summer in new york, do a search for a private art studio around you and try to enroll in their summer session.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by somnia View Post