Advice Requested, Relatively new to digital painting
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Advice Requested, Relatively new to digital painting

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy Advice Requested, Relatively new to digital painting

I'm still relatively new to digital painting, and I'm trying to improve my compositions and refinement process. This is the latest piece I'm working on. I wanted a composition which has dramatic tension, with no action, which sort of foreshadows a battle about to take place between a paladin and dark knight.

I have a few years of experience with Photoshop, and am attempting to achieve a semi painterly style with my art. I have a great deal of difficulty refining my paintings past a medium level of detail. To give you an idea, a finished piece of mine at the moment, fully rendered is only a bit more detailed than this stage of a painting in black and white. My environments give me a great deal of trouble, especially cityscapes, but in general I feel like my environments are a bit bland. I should stop now before I type all night.

I've heard great things about this community, and look forward to getting involved here, Thank you in advance to anyone who replies.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 2,227 Times in 1,348 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    When your composition depends this much on a dramatic falling shadow, it pays off to get the perspective right and tight. Here, you've literally butchered it, because the figure upstairs has a shadow that seemingly falls on a flat, stripy plane. It does not follow the steps at all! The effect is made worse by the fact that the shadow also darkens the front faces of the steps, which should be away from light and meld with the man's shadow.