Art: Maya 4 question. If someone could help, I would appreciate it.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Maya 4 question. If someone could help, I would appreciate it.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lightbulb Maya 4 question. If someone could help, I would appreciate it.

I have been working with Maya for a couple of months now, and I'm starting to like it quite a bit. I've been a Max user for 2 years now, and so it has been a bit of a challenge for me to learn the UI all over again.

My question is actually in regards to something I use quite a bit in Max. In Max, it is possible to create a box, then apply a Mesh Smooth, so that there are no sharp edges on the box or on the box corners. I haven't found anything like this in Maya, so I'm forced to create a square with rounded corners in line form, then extrude it along a line. This can be a real pain, and is quite time consuming. If someone could tell me if there is an easier way to get smooth corners, I would appreciate it very much! Thank you.

"I used to jog, but the ice cubes kept falling out of my glass." - David Lee Roth

HotNWormy
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    If I understand you correctly, I believe simply applying a bevel to the polygon edges will solve your problem. You can easily adjust the radius and division of the bevel arc to your liking.

-Steve

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Thumbs up Thank you!

Steve,

Thanks a bunch for your help. That was what I was looking for, but now I'm getting a strange thing happening... when I apply certain textures now, the polygon becomes see through with small lines all over it. I've even tried creating a simple cube. If I apply a flat texture to it, no problem. However, if I apply a texture with any kind of noise on it, I get the see-through problem I mentioned. Any idea what might be causing this?

Thanks again.