Sketchbook: Hugh_Jazz - Total Beginner Sketchbook
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hugh_Jazz - Total Beginner Sketchbook

Hello there

I use to draw comic book characters in elementary school and high school, Drawing being looking at a picture (splash/cover page) and try to duplicate it without sketching, shapes or anything. God.... I open up my ten year old sketchbook and the anatomy of the characters were god awful.

I went to a comic book convention in Toronto this past year and it has fired up my passion for drawing. I have been slowing collecting comic books and have bought reference material and how to draw books from various sources.

I bought the necessary pencils and equipment.

Do you guys use blue pencils alot?
    What about lightbox's?

BTW-this is my first time drawing properly, I am not in a rush, I want to practice, practice and practice some more. So PLEASE critique my work so I can understand what is wrong with how I initially draw my characters.

I usually sketch using a stick figure with joints being represented by circles. Please advise any weaknesses you see at my initial sketching. Remember total noob!!

I want to first master the overall body before I start doing hands/feet/eyes.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here you go dude just by taking the time to do these 2 books you are going to draw alot differently, I hope and think. As a begginner you don't want to get caught up in stuff that will waste your time, like studying anatomy, I wasted a year in a half as a beginner of doing nothing but anatomy, doing anatomy books right off the bat doesn't teach you how to draw. Learning light and shadow and perspective is really important right now.

Successful Drawing- Andrew Loomis

The Vilppu Drawing Manual

"Success is going from failure to failure without a loss of enthusiasum." Cliff Blezenski