Andrew Loomis Head Drawing Question

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Andrew Loomis Head Drawing Question

Hello,

I think everyone knows Loomis and his famous ball aproach to construct the proportions of the head correctly. I studied the Loomis books before but after an unsuccessful portrait drawing I decided to go over it again and brought the books down from the shelf.

Well, in short, I realized that, I am unable how to correctly get a slice from the sides of the sphere as Loomis does. Does anyone know how to get the slice from the sides of the sphere out perfectly? I believe the portion of the slice that you take out is crucial about correctly structuring the whole head. If the slice is narrow the face looks so wide if the slice is wide the face looks narrow. The slice must be taken out in a way that the face looks not narrow nor wide. Does anyone one know the trick? Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,946 Times in 2,393 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    THe goal is to use it as a guide to show you the top front and side planes of the head. Even loomis doesn't use it exactly the same way every time. You have to use it in conjunction with observation or other theory like width to height measurements for accuracy. Once you learn proportion well enough you can forego all the guides and just draw the head the way you want to.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following