Art: Oil Mediums
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Oil Mediums

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Oil Mediums

Hey all,

I recently started painting in oils. Right now I'm just putting the paint on straight, with a bit of liquin when I need it to spread better. Liquin seems to work fine in that respect, but doesn't really add to the "quality" of the paint, if that makes any sense. I plan on playing around with turp, linseed oil, and varnish when I get some time, but I was wondering if people wouldn't mind posting their favorite mediums or combination of mediums, and why. Also, does anyone use different mediums for different stages of their paintings? I.E. do the underpainting with turp, and then switch to something else for the rest? Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited by Tedsuo; November 26th, 2002 at 03:25 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm a total newbie when it comes to oils, but i'm really really interested in this medium, for now i'm learning with gouache and acrylics but i will spend some money on good oils for christmas ...

for now, with the little things i think i know about oil, i would do my first washes with oil diluted with turp, and then dilute less and less (quite the way i do with acrylics, fist washes with lot of water, and less and less ...)
    but i have no idea about the use of linseed oil, or varnish ... and i would be really happy too if other people would add their knowledge to this post

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    turp really isn't a medium. it breaks down the oil, like soap to oil. it's not a binder at all. i use it at the beginging of a painting when i'm sketching stuff, and even then, i don't use it straight, i usually dip alittle linseed oil or another medium with it. and after i get the sketch and a few things blocked in, i stop using the turp entirely, (only dip the brush in to clean some paint off)