WIP: Armor set concepts

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

WIP: Armor set concepts

Hello and thanks for visiting my thread!

I'm currently a graduate student studying art creation for games at The Guildhall at SMU. This is a two-month project intended to help us focus on a specialization of our choosing; my project is about concept art. I will be concepting four armor sets, with male and female variants, for a total of eight final model sheets. I will be pursuing a hand-painted fantasy style, in the theme of Diablo, World of Warcraft, Torchlight, etc. While this is a good opportunity to practice emulating existing art styles, my primary goals are good design, rendering practice, and effective use of color.

I will update periodically with my progress, and welcome critique at every stage of the project.

To kick off the thread, here are the thumbnails - please feel free to share your thoughts on the designs, to mix elements from different thumbs, do paintovers... any advice is welcome!

Attached Images Attached Images        
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Some of these are nicer than others, but my overall crit to you would be that I don't feel any sort of linkage between any of them. I don't feel like they would be part of the same culture or 'world'.

I think the problem is some of these very clearly draw on specific cultures for inspiration and others don't and it just feels like a big mixed bag of costume design ideas, and not like anything that is particularly unified or part of the same project.

Also, you have 4 classes, 5 designs each, and two genders. That's a minimum of 40 images if you only show fronts. I'd pick the best 2 of each class and make sure you show sides and backs as well, unless you really do have enough time to do all of what you have here.

Best wishes,