Art: new here + first post

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

new here + first post

Hi everyone!

I'm new here at conceptart.org and I'm putting up my first sketch. would like to get honest opinions on it since i'm new to the whole concept art world. I'm 32 and a working architect but would like to become better at somethign I've always liked to do since i was a kid, concept art. Its been a long while since I've sketched freely. Architecture can be so restrictive. Bombarding myself with books and vid tutorials in the little free time i have after work and spending time with my 1 yr old son. I'm overwhelmed and humbled by the talent here especially the younger ones. I hope I can learn with you all.

If I'm posting in the wrong place, I'm sorry, because I dont quite understand where things go in the various sub-forums. just please redirect me.

This next piece is a sketch over a previous work which I cannot credit because I honestly dont know who it belongs to. I wanted to re-conceptualize superman's costume and provide it with some sort basis. I ended up designing a reimagined Kryptonian look which will eventually provide the reason behind a new superman design.

So this is Superman's father Jor-El. Jor-El was a scientist. Stuck with the standard white used for jor-el and the kryptonians, but changed its form to have a low wide-open patel that reveals the logo of each house of krypton. notice the shape of the open jacket is has the basis of the diamond form. Whats also bugged me is that the "S" of superman was supposed to be the an alien character [that of the house of el] but the coiincidence that it looks like an earthly "s" is ridiculous. I took another canon version of the S from the comic books and placed it in a non-diamond form. The new outline of the logo seems plausible i think ....and...hints at the shape of a shirt being torn wide open by clark kent in the future.