Sketchbook: I want to f#?!ing animate! But first... A complete novice learns to draw (I hope?)

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I want to f#?!ing animate! But first... A complete novice learns to draw (I hope?)

Hi!

I'm completely new here, nice to meet all of you!

About 1 week ago I decided to pull my finger out and really dedicate myself to learning to draw.

Actually, what follows is some background, so maybe just ignore it and jump beneath the hashed line, if you can be bothered reading at all.

Ever since I was a kid I've really wanted to be a good drawer... and animator. I love hand-drawn animation with all my heart, so naturally I've proceeded to become an ecology student.

Actually I love science too, but my biggest regret is having never had the dedication as a kid to learn to draw properly. I want to change that now. Not only do I want to draw, I want to teach myself how to animate. But baby steps, hey? All the good sources say that a good animator has a very solid foundation as a good draftsman, so that's the first thing I want to become. As bad as I want it, I plan to keep animation at an arm's length until my drawing skills are good enough for me to deserve it.

After I started drawing last week I poked around the internet a bit and one of the suggestions was to have a look here. I was directed towards the journey of MindCandyMan, and I was floored by how the community here reciprocated all his hard work to help him achieve what he did. And lord knows I need guidance; I'd be stoked if you guys are willing to help, if I can prove that I'll put in the hard yards.