Need advice.
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Need advice.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Need advice.

In March of this year, I graduated with a B.S. in Computer Science. In late June I moved from Southern California to Northern California for a job doing software development. Within a week, I came to the realization that I hated the job, but not only that, I hated programming professionally. My employers could tell that I felt this way, and just a few days ago I was fired before my 90 day probationary period was up. So now I am out a job, lost, wondering where to go from here.

I have thought about starting over from square one, to get away of software development/IT and go into more creative pursuits. I have always been creative and draw all the time, I am a decent artist but have a problem with actually finishing pieces. I tend to just sketch and have several sketch books just filled with them. When I try to finish things, I tend to get frustrated with my hands not being steady enough to draw clean lines, or frustrated because I lack the technical skill to get the pictures im drawing to look like the picture in my head. Because of this I was reluctant to try to get into a creative carrer, thinking I could never get my skills to the point where I could draw/paint/create professional. Now, I feel a bit more confident I could develop those skills, but also feel that I still have a way to go.

So from here I want to pose a few questions to the community:

1. What would be the best way to make sure that a carrer in art is right for me? Obviously this might be question that would be best to ask myself, but I want to know what kinds of things would be required of me if I was a professional artist?