Good books on Composition, Suggestion?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Good books on Composition, Suggestion?

Hey everyone,

I've just read Loomis book Creative Illustration and found it overwhelmingly useful. Although i have just read the first half of the book, it already gave me many answers i have been looking for, which escaped me for all this time in hours of staring at my work wondering what is wrong in it.

I have to admit i am a novice so bad in composition and this Loomis book is the first i read about composition and illustration principles. The latter of course as the evidence of the former. I have just realized how much i learn about rendering and other things and it is all as useless like sharpening a blade and swinging it around in directions without composition.

This book is so great to me that it make me feel like it is all i need, but then i start thinking there must be some other great books out there about composition. Not that i doubt Loomis or think he missed some things, but a great book may it be, i feel that it can not be the end all and be all. I am sure that there other books out there that can complement it.

It will be wise to finish this book first and be able to truly put it into practice before asking for suggestions, but i guess asking will not hurt. So i kindly ask your suggestions for good books on compositions. Or if anyone want to review or point at some important things about Loomis' Creative Illustration.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,884 Times in 2,356 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Composition by Arthur Wesley Dow
    Arguably the best book on composition IMO.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Picture this by Molly Bang is really nice. Itīs very informative.