Thanks

Is art jobs really competitive?

Maybe I am overthinking and overanalyzing things because I'm still new in the art world but is it the real reason that most people can't get a career in art is not only because it is so competitive but is because most of artist just don't know how good they have to be?
    Most people I've seen looks like they are messing around
    Last edited by PeteJ; November 4th, 2010 at 05:38 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,185 Times in 755 Posts
    Your competition isn't just your classmates, it's everyone. That means you better be able to draw better than 98% of the members here if you really, really want a job.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Noah Bradley For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Plenty of talented artists out there. Competition is now all over the world too. So you not only need to be good, but good at marketing too.

Thanks
    Careers in art are very competitive; some more than others. It does really depend on what career path you would like to go down. I wouldn't say you outright have to be better than 98% of the people here to find work. Being incredibly skilled is the huge part of the equation, but it also comes down to networking, self promotion, professionalism, motivation, marketing, and a host of other factors.

It is true that students are not your main competition when you go out for jobs. People go to school to improve their skills and I wouldn't really expect a ton of seniors to be holy hot shit by graduation time. I think what counts is where they came from, how much they improved, and if they are still willing to study and improve after school is over. You never know, one of those "crappy" seniors can take a year off, make a good portfolio, and land some jobs.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,056 Posts