Thanks

Angry Jobs for graphic artist/designer

What Jobs can I get as a Graphic Designer? I am currently a freshman and just starting out. I will mostly draw instead of taking photographs, and I want to make 3D animations for trailers of video games or movies (10 years in the future after I leave my parents (hopefully), I will see my self working at an animation studio or drawing storyboards, because my parents want me to go into math and science and does not support me going into the art field).

I was hoping to get into 3D animation, but the college I am going to doesn't have a major in 3D animation, but they have an elective course for it and two for multimedia.

I am more interested in creating art with more conceptual form as in pertaining to our everyday life than creating abstract art, but at the same time I don't want to base my artwork entirely on what I can find as in photography.

I have a passion for drawing, but I have a required photography class that I will learn Photoshop, and I want to know how can the knowledge in photography be applied to traditional drawing to enhance it other than using photographs as reference. Is photoshop a good coloring/painting program, I have never used it since I am very poor and my family is poor (especially after having to buy so many text books)? Also, I am not very interested in photography.

I also have to go through a required course of Microsoft office programs (again!). Are Microsoft Office programs really needed for my field?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Graphic Design and Animation are completely different fields. Which is not to say that you can't transition from one to other-- many do-- but each requires different technical skills beyond the basics of color theory, composition, etc.