Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Very good at science, getting better in art... but no self-confidence

Hi,

I wanted to address a very personal matter. I am an advanced student in science and I've also been drawing for some time. Especially now, the pleasure of drawing is rocketing because I am realizing that I am (to some extent) capable of creating figures of my own. Over the past two weeks, I've also been drawing in the bus. In my last threads people strongly recommended to do life drawing (in my environment) and to take life drawing classes.

What does this tell me? I have always been very diligent in my science studies and my results are actually excellent. But this has always been taking up very, very much time. Drawing has been occasional. Now, all I do in my spare time is drawing and I am beginning to sense that I have at least some aptitude for that, or, if nothing else, It gives me some pleasure.

I have always been a nerdy person because I focussed on science very much. Now, I will definitely give art more room (also including life drawing at the university campus, in the park, mall, ...), but all in all, it seems I am becoming even more of a nerd.

Even with my very good success in science, I have never felt or been a confident person. I have always doubts about everything, I cannot approach women at all (and at times, this really hurts), I haven't had but one girlfriend in my life, and this was long ago and very short-lived.

I just don't know what this is. I would like to say out loud: Look, I'm good at my science studies, I am also a good programmer (it has always been a hobby), well-read, eloquent (English is not my first language and look how well I can express myself) and now, I am getting better and better in art. Sounds like an interesting person, eh?