Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast
    Thanks

Tim learns to draw and would like your help!

Hey Everyone,

I'm Tim, and I'm a CS student from up in Washington. I started drawing in June of 2010 (and actually started getting serious in January 2012) with absolutely no skill at all, and I think I've gotten slightly better since. I'd like to work in animation, cartooning, or illustration. I have no idea yet!

Most of this first page stuff is kinda old, new stuff begins on the fifth page.

Comments or critiques? Feel free! I'd love to hear what you have to say so I can better direct my learning.
    Last edited by Tim Murphy; August 8th, 2012 at 01:40 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    It's good that you've made this step! It's great to hear that you're drawing, just keep it up and remember that persistence is the KEY to getting better.

Now my critique: Your sense of form isn't too shabby, and I see you are working on individual body parts which is cool (it is necessary to do studies like you're doing, so good job so far). I'd say just simplify for now though and work on mastering fundamentals such as the basic forms; for example, let's see how you render a simple sphere and its cast shadow for now and then we can spot the problems in that before moving on, etc. Simple forms will allow you to see the problems easier before complicating it with anatomy.
    As for anatomy, it's something that takes years to master, so just keep it up day after day doing studies of real people, anatomy books, Bridgman, Loomis, Vilppu, etc.
    Also, be sure to draw from life a lot to learn even more.

It's really hard to make a good critique at this stage, especially only seeing a few parts of the figure that you've drawn, but I can tell you that it's a good start. I'd definitely like to see more, so keep drawing!

Perhaps to keep things simple you may want to make a daily schedule to start out, something to do every day such as: