Best Way to Learn to Draw?

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Best Way to Learn to Draw?

Hello all,

I'm new here and wanted to ask, what's the best way to learn how to draw? Little background info on me - I am a self taught digital graphics designer, but noticed that to move into an area of designing toys, characters, etc. I would really need to learn how to draw. I've tried some online tutorials, but never found them to be helpful; I've bought a few books, most notably Keys to Drawing by Bert Dodson, which had very good reviews, but for some reason, I just can't seem to learn from a book. It's gotten to the point of frustration, maybe I had ADD or something!

Can you guys give me some tips on how I can learn to draw, whether it be from some videos to taking classes? I live in NYC, so any place where I can possible go to school (I've looked into NYU and Parsons, they are both kinda costly)? Any help would be appreciated, thank you so much!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Art Students League has some top notch faculty and is very cheap.

The biggest thing, though, is to just draw. A lot.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Meloncov View Post
    Art Students League has some top notch faculty and is very cheap.

The biggest thing, though, is to just draw. A lot.
    exactly, draw a lot, from life from books just draw every day, pay attention to all the features of the the things you are drawing, how things bend, move, how light affects them, etc.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following