Need Help on A Design

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Need Help on A Design

Alright, so my pride-and-joy creation has gone through dozens of revamps and re-designs, and I have finally settled down on a few "final" designs, but trouble has struck.

Alright, so I've been re-designing one of the designs (procrastination slows the process), and I am adding things I've never tried to draw before, but that's for later, for now:

Here's the original.

Now what I'm doing, is adding a Hydralisk-styled mandible that encases the jaw, some other additions, and the rest (well some of) the body.

But I've run into two things I need to work on.

The first being the body itself. Now Sylizar here is built like a giant intergalactic, planet eating centipede, and to live up to the nickname "Devourer of Galaxies", he has to look pretty damn menacing. I've gotten the head to reflect this, and I've got the body too as well, problem is, his body is laced with huge spikes. Me, being lazy, kind of rushes over these spikes, and it becomes a bit of a mess.

Here's what I'm "going" for:

Here's a sample result (albeit a rather confusing sample):

Basically, what I'm asking is: Other than taking more time on it (I plan too on the next versions), what would be the best kind of spikes too use, going by my concept drawing? And how nest to do them? If someone could draw some examples, it'd be appreciated.

Dilemma #2 is more simple. Basically, on a random head design I was doing, I added a "crown".

Here:

Now my problem here, is that it looks kind of...weird. Essentially, my question is: Should I go with the crown or not? And, if I do, what would be a better way to streamline/make it more badass?

And my final question. Does he invoke a sort of "fear" in you? As in, would this creature be "terrifying" too you?